Posted on February 16th, 2010 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements.
Our office will be Closed February 25th to 28th for Curtis’ wedding!
Congratulations to Mr and Mrs Nickason!
Posted on December 17th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Support.
Our dial-up numbers will be changing soon.
At this time both the old and new number will work, so you can start using the new numbers right away. Once the changeover is complete, the old numbers will be phased out. For most Windows systems, you can change the number by clicking the Properties button on the Connect To screen. For Macintosh users, instructions are posted on our web site here:
http://www.secure-by-design.com/support/mac-os-x-dial-up-settings/
The new numbers for the local area are:
We also have dial up access in communities across Canada. For the complete list, see:
http://www.secure-by-design.com/support/dial-up-numbers/
Thinking about getting high speed?
Our service area has recently expanded to include parts of 6-Mile and Warfield, and is available in most cities in BC and Alberta. Long time dial-up customers may be eligible to receive a discount on a high speed modem.
You can check if service is available to you on our web site:
https://service.secure-by-design.com/cgi-bin/adsl-check.cgi
If you require assistance with this change, or would like to inquire about high speed upgrade options please call our office:
1-877-373-6121
Posted on December 9th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements.

| Thursday, December 24 | Open 9am to Noon |
| Friday, December 25 | Closed |
| Thursday, December 31 | Open 9am to Noon |
| Friday, January 1 | Closed |
Posted on December 9th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements.

To all of our customers,
Thank you for making our first year a success! We truly appreciate your buisness, and look forward to serving you in 2010! We hope you have a safe and enjoyable Holiday Season, and we wish you all the best in the New Year!
Posted on November 30th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
The following message is in fact a scam. We never email to ask you for your password. The big tip is that the reply-to address goes to an address that is not one of ours. This is a common sign of fraudulent emails.
Is Monday over yet?
Date: Tue, 01 Dec 2009 06:29:36 +0800 From: "Net Idea Telecommunications Inc." <webmaster@netidea.com> Reply-to: supportdesk@programmer.net To: undisclosed-recipients:; Subject: EMAIL UPGRADE NOTICE!!! Account Department! Net Idea Telecommunications Inc. Upgrade/Maintenance All netidea.com Email Accounts We regret to announce to you that we will be making some system maintenance on our netidea.com Webmail account. During this process you might have login problems in signing into your netidea.com Webmail account, but to prevent this you have to confirm your account immediately after you receive this notification. To confirm and to keep your netidea.com webmail active during and after this process, please reply to this message with the below netidea.com Webmail account information. Failure to do this might cause a permanent deactivation of your netidea.com Webmail account from our data base to enable us create more spaces for the 2009 session. Send your netidea.com Webmail account for confirmation stating: * netidea.com ID: * Password: * Date of Birth: Your account shall remain active after you have successfully confirmed your account details. We thank you for your prompt attention to this notification. Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect your netidea.com Webmail account. We apologize for any inconvenience. Net Idea Telecommunications Inc. ACCOUNT SUPPORT
Posted on November 23rd, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
We’ve seen 2 separate phishing emails sent out over the weekend. They are both very similar and ask for your username and password. The emails are sent from email@info.com, but replies will go to rest777@att.net. These are fairly obvious scams. What these criminals want is your username and password so they can use your email account to send out spam.
We will never email you to ask for your password. Ever.
Posted on November 10th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements.
To all Veterans, and active Service Personnel, Thank you for your sacrifice to help make this world a better place.

Posted on November 6th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
There are a number of emails making the rounds today claiming to be an updated Facebook user account agreement. These emails contain an attached zip file containing a trojan horse type virus. Do not open the attachment and delete the message on sight. Here are some examples:
Posted on October 23rd, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
This message containing a zip attachment is another virus, of the same variety of the ‘Conflicker.B infection alert‘ emails earlier this week.
My virus scanner shows its version 483 of the same virus.
Sincerely,
Kirk Ismay
-------- Original Message -------- Subject: A new settings file for the username@netidea.com has just been released Date: Mon, 19 Oct 2009 09:29:44 -0500 From: support <username@netidea.com> To: <username@netidea.com> Dear user of the netidea.com mailing service! We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox username@netidea.com settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of settings open zip attached file. Best regards, netidea.com Technical Support.
Posted on October 19th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
The message below is a fake and the attached file is in fact a virus. The two samples I have are actually 2 different variations of the virus, which according to my virus scanner is now up to version 481 of this bug. Virus authors are now releasing new versions of a virus faster than virus scanners can release the new signatures.
As always, never open an unexpected file, whether it comes from email or instant message. If it appears to be from someone you know, call or text them to verify that they really did send it to you.
Sincerely,
Kirk Ismay
-------- Original Message -------- Subject: Conflicker.B Infection Alert Date: Mon, 19 Oct 2009 09:29:44 -0500 From: Microsoft Windows Agent <username@netidea.com> To: <username@netidea.com>
Dear Microsoft Customer, Starting 18/10/2009 the ‘Conficker’ worm began infecting Microsoft customers unusually rapidly. Microsoft has been advised by your Internet provider that your network is infected. To counteract further spread we advise removing the infection using an antispyware program. We are supplying all effected Windows Users with a free system scan in order to clean any files infected by the virus. Please install attached file to start the scan. The process takes under a minute and will prevent your files from being compromised. We appreciate your prompt cooperation. Regards, Microsoft Windows Agent #2 (Hollis) Microsoft Windows Computer Safety Division