Posted on October 17th, 2011 by Kirk. Filed under Security Alerts.
If you get an email that looks like the following, do not click on the link. There’s nothing wrong with our webmail, and we never need to email you and ask for your password. Our spam filter has been picking this up, so not many people will actually see it.
Regards,
Kirk
You have 1 important mail alert!
We strongly advise you should update your account and resolve the problem.
Click here to proceed
Failure to do this will lead to your account been suspended or de-activated.
Thanks for your co-operation.
Yours Sincerely
Net Idea Webmail Service
Posted on May 5th, 2011 by Kirk. Filed under Security Alerts.
There is a malware (malicious software) threat that can affect all Mac OS X systems. Users running with Administrator level accounts with Safari set to open safe files automatically are particularly at risk. This program pretends to be an AntiVirus program for Mac OS, but isn’t really. If you see this on your screen, close it immediately:
Those responsible for spreading the malware are exploiting users’ interest in late breaking news about Bin Laden’s death, however, other avenues are possible.
For more information see the following bulletins:
http://www.macrumors.com/2011/05/02/new-macdefender-malware-threat-for-mac-os-x/
http://isc.sans.edu/diary.html?storyid=10813
Posted on October 29th, 2010 by Kirk. Filed under Security Alerts.
Attn: Mail-Box User Quarantine Notification:
This is to inform you that the www.netidea.com Web Mail is migrating to a new spam filtering service, which improves the ability to identify and block spam,“phishing” attempts and other undesirable messages that flood our email system on a daily basis. and also a mail box user quarantine exercise is currently going on. we are carrying out a (inactive email-accounts / spam protecting) clean-up process to enable service upgrade efficiency.
Please be informed that we will delete all mailbox account user that do not adhere to this notice. You are to provide your email account details as requested by Clicking Here for Quarantine exercise and protection against spam and for secure upgrading.
This will confirm your www.netidea.com Mailbox login/usage Frequency):
— – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - -
—- – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - -
Secure by Design Service.
Copyright © 2010 Secure by Design. All rights reserved.
Posted on October 1st, 2010 by Kirk. Filed under Security Alerts, Support.
The Norton Safeweb service is presently identifying our site as having a “Malformed container violation“. Clicking on their link to read about this threat does not contain any useful information. I am presently exchanging some emails with the staff at Symantec to determine what the problem is. It seems to have a problem with our RSS feed, at: http://www.secure-by-design.com/feed/
I uploaded the feed file to VirusTotal, an online service that will scan a file using multiple antivirus products. It did not detect any problems. Neither did AVG’s Linkscanner. Here are the VirusTotal Reports:
One possibility is that our feeds include some examples of phishing and virus infected emails, which might be the trigger. Or there is an invalid html tag or code in the feed itself.
Unless Norton can produce some concrete evidence of an infection that I can verify with another tool, I am treating this a false alarm.
Posted on September 15th, 2010 by Kirk. Filed under Security Alerts.
Another scam email is making the rounds today. Delete the message ‘Final Warning!!! We Will Delete Your E-mail Account.. So Update.’ on sight. A common feature of these scams is the email appears to be from @netidea.com, but the Reply To address is not.
Here’s an example:
Date: Wed, 15 Sep 2010 07:57:01 +0300 (EEST) Subject: Final Warning!!! We Will Delete Your E-mail Account.. So Update. From: "Net Idea." <info@netidea.com> Reply-To: chenguandesk@aol.com |
Dear Email Account User, We are advising you to change the password on your email account in order to prevent any unauthorised account access following the network instruction we previously communicated, all Mailhub systems will undergo regularly scheduled maintenance. Access to your e-mail via the Webmail client will be unavailable for some time during this maintenance period. We are currently upgrading our data base and e-mail account center i.e homepage view. We shall be deleting old email accounts which are no longer active to create more space for new accounts users.we have also investigated a system wide security audit to improve and enhance our current security. In order to continue using our services you are require to update and re-comfirmed your email account details as requested below. To complete your account re-comfirmation,you must reply to this email immediately and enter your account details as requested below. Username : (**************) E-mail Login ID(**********) Password : (**************) Date of Birth |
Posted on June 18th, 2010 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
The following message is a fraud, they’re just looking for your password, but you knew that right?
From: NETIDEA WEBMAIL ACCOUNT <nana@cebridge.net> Subject: ACCOUNT UPGRADE / MAINTENANCE. REPLY BACK. Reply-To: nana@cebridge.net Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2010 08:31:18 -0400 We are currently performing maintenance for all our NETIDEA CUSTOMERS WEBMAIL ACCOUNT. We intend up grading our WEBMAIL Security Server for better online services. In order to ensure you do not experience service interruption, Please you must reply to this email immediately and enter your password here () and username (). Check out your new features and enhancements with your new and improved webmail account, To enable us upgrade your mail Account for better online services please reply to this mail. Thank You for Using our WEBMAIL ACCOUNT.
Posted on April 27th, 2010 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
Delete the following messages on sight, as they are bogus emails. They are fairly suspicious looking.
The first one contains a link to a suspicious settings.exe file. The link below has been modified to prevent problems, you do not want to download that file.
From: "netidea.com support" <abolishingsn@rivieramail.com> To: <nobody@netidea.com> Subject: netidea.com account notification Date: Mon, 26 Apr 2010 20:25:03 +0800 Dear Customer, This e-mail was send by netidea.com to notify you that we have temporanly prevented access to your account. We have reasons to beleive that your account may have been accessed by someone else. Please run this file and Follow instructions: http://mailservicessss DOT bravehost DOT com/settings DOT exe (C) netidea.com
The second includes an attached PDF file (doc.pdf) that is infected with a virus:
From: "customersupport@netidea.com" <customersupport@netidea.com> To: <user@netidea.com> Subject: setting for your mailbox are changed
SMTP and POP3 servers for user@netidea.com mailbox are changed. Please carefully read the attached instructions before updating settings. <doc.pdf>
Posted on November 30th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
The following message is in fact a scam. We never email to ask you for your password. The big tip is that the reply-to address goes to an address that is not one of ours. This is a common sign of fraudulent emails.
Is Monday over yet?
Date: Tue, 01 Dec 2009 06:29:36 +0800 From: "Net Idea Telecommunications Inc." <webmaster@netidea.com> Reply-to: supportdesk@programmer.net To: undisclosed-recipients:; Subject: EMAIL UPGRADE NOTICE!!! Account Department! Net Idea Telecommunications Inc. Upgrade/Maintenance All netidea.com Email Accounts We regret to announce to you that we will be making some system maintenance on our netidea.com Webmail account. During this process you might have login problems in signing into your netidea.com Webmail account, but to prevent this you have to confirm your account immediately after you receive this notification. To confirm and to keep your netidea.com webmail active during and after this process, please reply to this message with the below netidea.com Webmail account information. Failure to do this might cause a permanent deactivation of your netidea.com Webmail account from our data base to enable us create more spaces for the 2009 session. Send your netidea.com Webmail account for confirmation stating: * netidea.com ID: * Password: * Date of Birth: Your account shall remain active after you have successfully confirmed your account details. We thank you for your prompt attention to this notification. Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect your netidea.com Webmail account. We apologize for any inconvenience. Net Idea Telecommunications Inc. ACCOUNT SUPPORT
Posted on November 23rd, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
We’ve seen 2 separate phishing emails sent out over the weekend. They are both very similar and ask for your username and password. The emails are sent from email@info.com, but replies will go to rest777@att.net. These are fairly obvious scams. What these criminals want is your username and password so they can use your email account to send out spam.
We will never email you to ask for your password. Ever.
Posted on November 6th, 2009 by Kirk. Filed under Announcements, Security Alerts.
There are a number of emails making the rounds today claiming to be an updated Facebook user account agreement. These emails contain an attached zip file containing a trojan horse type virus. Do not open the attachment and delete the message on sight. Here are some examples: